We are pleased to inform you that the following scientists have been chosen to receive the Young Scientist Prizes in Statistical Physics, which are presented by the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the International Union for Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) every three years, at the StatPhys Conferences:

  • Dr. Manlio De Domenico, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
  • Dr. Lucile Savary, Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon, France
  • Dr. Alexandre Solon, Sorbonne Université, LPTMC, CNRS, France
  • The Young Scientist Prizes will be awarded during StatPhys27

    For more information, please contact Rahul Pandit, Chair of the IUPAP C3 Commission.


    Young Scientist Award

    The Young Scientist Prize in Statistical Physics has recently been established by the C3 Commission on Statistical Physics of the IUPAP. The Prize is aimed at recognizing outstanding achievements of scientists at early stages of their career in the field of Statistical Physics. The recipients must be no more than eight years past PhD on July 1, 2016, and are expected to have displayed significant achievement and exceptional promise for future achievements in the area of experimental or theoretical Statistical Physics. The Prize consists of a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, a Medal and 1000 euros.

    The recipients of the Young Scientist Award in 2019

    Lucile Savary

    For her pioneering contributions to our understanding of complex quantum states of matter with particular reference to quantum spin liquids.

    Short biography

    Lucile Savary is a permanent CNRS researcher in condensed matter theory at the Laboratoire de physique at ENS de Lyon. Before moving there, she was a PhD student at the University of California, Santa Barbara, and a Gordon and Betty Moore postdoctoral fellow at MIT.
    Her research focuses on exotic phenomena in real systems, with an emphasis on frustrated magnetism. It includes quantum spin liquids, and in particular quantum spin ice, order-by-disorder, quantum criticality, the theory of RIXS, spin-orbital systems, thermal transport, and unconventional superconductivity in multi-band spin-orbit coupled materials.

    Manlio De Domenico

    For his very important contributions to the modeling of complex systems based on statistical physics and nonlinear dynamics, in particular, the development of the physics of multilayer networks and a quantum-inspired statistical mechanics of networks.

    Short biography

    De Domenico obtained his PhD in Physics in February 2012 at the School for Advanced Studies of the University of Catania. He is currently Senior Researcher at Fondazione Bruno Kessler – leading Italian research institution – and Director of the Research Unit "Complex Multilayer Networks" (CoMuNe) Lab, an interdisciplinary group working at the edge of Statistical Physics, Applied Math and Computer Science. He holds the National Scientific Habilitation (ASN) as Full Professor in Theoretical Physics of Condensed Matter.
    His primary research field gravitates around theoretical and computational aspects of Statistical Physics, with main focus on modeling of complex systems based on statistical physics and nonlinear dynamics. For his recent contributions to the field – including the development of a physics of multilayer networks and a quantum-inspired statistical mechanics of networks – he paved the way for interdisciplinary applications of Statistical Physics to modeling and analysis of the human proteome, the human brain and collective behavior in social and socio-technological systems far from equilibrium.
    De Domenico has been recognized by national and international prizes, including the “Junior Scientific Award” from the Complex Systems Society (2016) – for “a number of pioneering contributions to the field of multilayer networks” – and the “Prize in Formal Sciences” from the Universal Scientific Education and Research Network (2017) – for “modeling the complexity of systems of systems”.

    Alexandre Solon

    For his outstanding theoretical contributions to the development of non-equilibrium statistical physics and the field of active matter.

    Short biography

    Solon's main research interests pertain to the statistical physics of active matter, which are collections of locally driven units encompassing various systems from the cytoskeleton to bird flocks. Such systems exhibit original phases and phase transitions such as the transition to collective motion which Solon reinterpreted, thereby completing the phase diagram of the celebrated Vicsek model.
    He further studied the role of mechanical pressure in active systems, showing that in general it does not behave as a state function. This ultimately lead to generalize thermodynamic relations to better understand the phenomenon of motility-induced phase separation.

    Young Scientist Award Winners, Alexandre Solon and Lucile Savary, with Boltzmann Medal Awardee, Herbert Spohn

    Lucile Savary acknowledging her award.

    Alexandre Solon acknowledging his award.

    Alex Arenas acknowledging the award on behalf of Manlio De Domenico.